Meath was crowned consecutive All-Ireland champion after a nine-point win over Kerry

Meath was crowned consecutive All-Ireland champion after a nine-point win over Kerry

Meat 3-10

Kerry 1-7

MEATH ARE ALL-IRELAND Senior Ladies Football Champions for the second year running.

In an impressive team effort, Eamonn Murray’s side swept past Kerry at Croke Park as 46,440 spectators watched in a sea of ​​green and gold.

Goals from Player of the Match Niamh O’Sullivan, Emma Troy and substitute Bridgetta Lynch were crucial as the Royals emerged victorious by nine points and a dominant display for the league-league double.

Vikki Wall was immense with three points topping an all-around colossus, Aoibhín Cleary also put in a superb individual performance and O’Sullivan showed her class at 1-2.

Kerry star forward Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh recorded the same tally at the other end as the side of Declan Quill and Darragh Long played their first senior All-Ireland final since 2012 after an impressive journey.

But as their wait for their first Brendan Martin Cup win since 1993 continues, Meath captain Shauna Ennis climbs the steps of the Hogan Stand once again as the royals’ fairytale story continues.

It was a sensational, frenetic opening 10 minutes at headquarters. First came Kerry’s dream start and then the champion’s perfect response.

After very early goals with an injury scare for Wall and squandering, nervous moments at both ends, Kerry’s half-back Ciara Murphy opened the scoring with three minutes remaining. After missing her first free-kick, Ní Mhuircheartaigh hit form with a devastating two-minute ball: she made no mistake with her second-place ball and brilliantly lulled Monica McGuirk to make it 1-2 to 0-0 after a kick-out miss in the seventh minute.

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh faces Katie Newe.

Credit: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Meath hit back immediately, veteran free fighter Stacey Grimes sending her off before Troy raised a green flag. The Boardsmill defender shot home after good work from Kelsey Nesbitt in the build-up. In the 12th minute, the Wall leveled the score at 2-1 with a stunning curl from the right, and the AFLW-bound ace repeated the trick shortly after with almost identical effort.

Kerry didn’t score for nearly 15 minutes; Grimes, Troy – after a superb flip-up by Emma Duggan – and Wall all scored big points from the game into the Canal End as the Royals capitalized on the Kingdom kick-out, with Cleary superb in that department to the fore. She lost her half-back Aoibheann Leahy to a worrying injury, but Meath rolled on, her tried-and-tested defense being well appreciated and her remarkable fitness and condition showing.

Síofra O’Shea, Paris McCarthy and Lorraine Scanlon helped Kerry get the scoreboard going again in the closing minutes of the first half, but Niamh O’Sullivan and Grimes at the other end did the same.

Murray’s side were wide with a couple of other chances – one from Wall which HawkEye perhaps controversially ruled out – but still well under control and 1-8 to 1-5 for a better break.

Kerry started the second half brightest with O’Shea and Ní Mhuircheartaigh (clear) reducing the deficit to one. Duggan hasn’t had her easiest day in the office in terms of shooting, but the Dunboyne Dementor got one of the biggest roars of the afternoon as she felt a long-range free-over.

The second half trundled along and really needed a spark, and that came when Niamh O’Sullivan smashed into the Hill 16 end in the 45th minute. The Dunshaughlin Royal Gaels star had the final say after key appearances from Grimes and Lynch, the gap was brought to five – 2-9 to 1-7.

Lynch struck in Meath’s third goal of the game three minutes later. It came after a brand wall broke up the field; Grimes’ attempt was blocked, Lynch’s palm from the scramble rattling off the bar before the Oldcastle striker made good on the rebound.


Shauna Ennis raises the Brendan Martin trophy.

Credit: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

To be honest, the second half was sloppy at times; poor shooting by both sides, several shots falling short and questionable decisions, but there were also magical moments; particularly large meat sales.

Ní Mhuircheartaigh was in good form while Meath was forced to end the game without a wall, the 2021 Footballer of the Year was booked for persistent foul play and claimed the final offence. She left the field to boo referee Maggie Farrelly and the crowd’s frustration at certain decisions boiled over.

O’Sullivan finally sealed the deal with another exceptional performance, taking their tally to 1-2 for the day with three minutes remaining, before Ní Mhuircheartaigh flew from long range and hit the bar.

As one of the final acts of the game, it summarized Kerry’s second half as they largely ran from steamers and Meath once again had the upper hand.

Scorers for Meath: Niamh O’Sullivan 1-2, Emma Troy 1-1, Vikki Wall and Stacey Grimes both 0-3 (2f), Bridgetta Lynch 1-0, Emma Duggan 0-1 (1f).

Scorers for Kerry: Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh 1-2 (2f), Síofra O’Shea 0-2, Ciara Murphy, Paris McCarthy, Lorraine Scanlon all 0-1.


1. Monica McGuirk (Dullek Bellewstown)

2. Shauna Ennis (Na Fianna – Captain), 3. Mary Kate Lynch (Summerhill), 4. Katie Newe (Ratoath)

5. Aoibheann Leahy (Navan O’Mahonys), 6. Emma Troy (Boardsmill), 7. Aoibhin Cleary (Donaghmore Ashbourne)

8. Mayor O’Shaughnessy (Donaghmore Ashbourne), 9. Orlagh Lally (Clann na nGael)

10. Megan Thynne (Dunsany), 11. Emma Duggan (Dunboyne), 12. Kelsey Nesbitt (Simonstown)

13. Vikki Wall (Dunboyne), 14. Stacey Grimes (Seneschalstown), 15. Niamh O’Sullivan (Dunshaughlin Royal Gaels)


22. Orla Byrne (Duleek Bellewstown) for Aoibheann Leahy (23, injured)

21. Bridgetta Lynch (Oldcastle) for Kelsey Nesbitt (42)

NZ IRE Exclusive
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s match analysis and Garry Doyle’s updates from New Zealand exclusively for members

become a member

27. Orlagh Duff (Dee Rangers) for Katie Newe (57)

29. Emma White (St Patrick’s) for Stacey Grimes (57)

17. Sarah Wall (Dunboyne) for Megan Thynne (57)


1. Ciara Butler (Gregory Castle)

2. Julie O’Sullivan (Inbhear Sceine Gaels), 3. Kayleigh Cronin (Dr. Crokes), 4. Eilís Lynch (Castleisland Desmonds)

5. Aishling O’Connell (Éire Óg, Cork), 6. Emma Costello (Firies), 7. Ciara Murphy (MKL Gaels)

8. Lorraine Scanlon (Castleisland Desmonds), 9. Cait Lynch (Castleisland Desmonds)

10. Niamh Carmody (Finuge/St Senans), 11. Síofra O’Shea (Southern Gaels), 12. Anna Galvin (Na Fianna – Captain)

13 Paris McCarthy (Castleisland Desmonds), 14 Danielle O’Leary (Rathmore), 15 Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh (Corca Dhuibhne)


19. Niamh Ni Chonchúir (Corca Dhuibhne) for Niamh Carmody (45)

22. Erica McGlynn (Fossa) for Paris McCarthy (46)

17. Aoife Dillane (Austin Stacks) for Julie O’Sullivan (52)

24. Mary O’Connell (Na Gaeil) for Aishling O’Connell (57)

Referee: Maggie Farrelly (Cavan).

#Meath #crowned #consecutive #AllIreland #champion #ninepoint #win #Kerry

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.